Skip to Content
  • Contact Us
  • Text Size - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

News Archive

Mayor, Councilmembers Sworn-In

Mayor, Councilmembers Sworn-In

Mayor Ed Pawlowski was sworn-in for his third term in office and City Councilpersons Julio Guridy, Ray O’Connell, Cynthia Mota, Daryl Hendricks and Joe Davis took their oaths of office before a packed house last night in Allentown City Council Chambers.

Pawlowski, Guridy, O’Connell, Mota and Hendricks won four year terms in the November election. Davis captured a two year unexpired term.

Council then re-elected Guridy and O’Connell to the posts of president and vice president.

In his inaugural address, Pawlowski told the members of council that he looked forward to working with them collectively and individually. Pawlowski said, “we may not always agree on how that should be done, but we do agree on the basic premise of making Allentown a better place to live for our residents, a better place to work and do business and a better place to play for those who visit our city.”

Pawlowski pointed out that Allentown “is on a solid fiscal path for decades to come,” keyed by the concession lease agreement of the water and sewer utility system to the Lehigh County Authority. He credited the Neighborhood Improvement Zone legislation as a catalyst to “literally reinvent our city.” According to Pawlowski, close to one million square feet of new office space is being constructed in the zone that will bring thousands of new jobs. “Block by block, bridge by bridge, house by house; we have been rebuilding our neighborhoods and our city.”

Pawlowski promised to continue to work closely with members of council over the next several years to create proactive legislation that will improve the lives of our residents and further economic development.


Posted in: | View Count: (3512)